2023 Indo-Pacific fellows announcement

In the context of growing strategic uncertainty in our region, understanding the dynamics of the Indo-Pacific has never been more important. And the best way to do this (as is so often the case) is also the simplest one – to listen.

In 2020, with COVID lockdowns in place world-wide, the Centre launched the Indo-Pacific Fellows program to help maintain our conversation with the region. The program features a Non-Resident Fellow from five key countries and seeks to bring new and diverse perspectives on regional affairs into the Australian national debate.

After three successful years of research, reporting and commentary by our 2020, 2021 and 2022 cohorts, I am delighted to introduce our Indo-Pacific Fellows for 2023:

  • India – Dr Premesha Saha, Observer Research Foundation
  • Indonesia – Dr Ella Prihatini, Bina Nusantara University
  • Japan – Mr Yuma Osaki, Crawford School of Public Policy ANU
  • South Korea – Professor Jina Kim, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies
  • Vietnam – Dr Nguyen Linh Dan, Hanoi University of Science and Technology

Click here to read more about each of our Indo-Pacific Fellows.

Over the coming months, our Fellows will offer expert analyses of social, political, economic and security developments within the region. They will do so by contributing analysis briefs, articles, interviews, webinars and explainers to the Centre’s programs. I encourage you to look out for their work on the Centre’s website, social media and in our regular communications.

Special thanks to our alumni

Of course, as we welcome one cohort, it is with gratitude and well wishes that we farewell our outgoing Indo-Pacific Fellows and thank them for their invaluable contributions to the Centre over the past 12 months.

On behalf of everyone at the Perth USAsia Centre, I sincerely thank our 2022 alumni: Natasha Jha Bhaskar, Rainier Haryanto, Megumi Yoshitomi, Ho Thai Binh, and Derek Grossman.

I look forward to seeing what the program will bring in 2023.

Warm regards,

Professor Gordon Flake
Chief Executive Officer

Subscribe to our email list

Subscribe to our email list and stay up to date with our latest news and events. Unsubscribe any time.