Board of Directors

Board of Directors
  • The Honourable John Olsen, AO

    Chairman, American Australian Association Limited

    The Honourable John Olsen AO is currently the Chairman of the American Australian Association Limited.

    more details >
  • Mark Baillie

    Chairman, United States Studies Centre

    Mark Baillie was appointed Chair of the Board of Directors at the US Studies Centre (USSC) in November 2015. Baillie has been a member of the USSC board since February 2014.

    more details >
  • The Honourable Kim Beazley, AC

    Governor of Western Australia

    The Hon Kim Beazley AC is the 33rd Governor of Western Australia. Prior to being installed as Governor on the 1st May 2018, Mr Beazley had dedicated almost three decades to a career in Federal Parliament, representing the WA seats of Brand and Swan.

    more details >
  • The Honourable Dr Elizabeth Constable AM

    Non-Executive Director, Perth USAsia Centre

    The Honourable Elizabeth Constable is Member of the Order of Australia and was a Member of the Parliament of Western Australia from 20 July 1991 until her retirement on 9 March 2013.

    more details >
  • Gordon Flake

    Chief Executive Officer, Perth USAsia Centre

    L. Gordon Flake is the founding CEO of the Perth USAsia Centre, a position he assumed in January of 2014.

    more details >
  • Sarah Beshar

    Senior Legal Counsel Davis Polk and Wardwell LLP

    Sarah Beshar is a senior executive, legal counsel, corporate advisor and strategist respected for combining strong business and legal judgment with financial acumen. Throughout her career, she has counseled and corporate finance, governance, compliance and international securities expertise.

    more details >
  • Professor Dawn Freshwater

    Vice-Chancellor, University of Western Australia

    Professor Dawn Freshwater was appointed Vice-Chancellor of The University of Western Australia in January 2017.

    more details >
  • Professor Simon Jackman

    Chief Executive Officer, United States Studies Centre

    Simon Jackman commenced as CEO of the US Studies Centre in April 2016. Between 1996 and 2016, he was a Professor of Political Science and Statistics at Stanford University.

    more details >
  • Professor Stephen Smith

    Former Minister for Defence and Minister for Foreign Affairs

    Professor Stephen Smith has been a Professor of Public International Law at the University of Western Australia since 2014. He is currently the Chairman of archTIS, Chairman of Sapien Cyber, Chair of the Advisory Board of the UWA Public Policy Institute, a member of the Board of the Perth USAsia Centre and a Member of the Board of the LNG Marine Fuel Institute.  

    more details >
  • Deidre Willmott

    Non-Executive Director

    Ms Deirdre Willmott is the Board Member of Australia Post and Director of the Kimberley Foundation Australia.

    more details >

Our Events

High calibre events showcasing leaders and experts from the Indo-Pacific region

our staff

The Perth USAsia Centre team, expertise and contact details